Conductor, Wanda Kaluzny

Attention to detail . . . unusual warmth and spaciousness . . . impressive control . . . a wide range of nuance and expressive details – these are comments one hears again and again about Wanda Kaluzny’s conducting.

Born in Montreal, Kaluzny started her musical studies with lessons in piano and organ. She began her conducting career at the age of 11 when she assumed the position of organist and choir director at the Holy Cross Parish in Montreal, a position she held for eight years. A year later, at the age of twenty, she founded the Montreal Chamber Orchestra (MCO) making her, at the time, the youngest and only woman conductor of a professional orchestra in Canada.

Kaluzny’s conducting studies include working with Stefan Stuligrosz in Poland and with Charles Bruck at the Pierre Monteux Memorial Foundation in the U.S. In 1981, she toured in Europe as Maestro Bruck’s assistant. In addition, Kaluzny has guest conducted in North America and Europe. In April 1990, she was the first woman to guest conduct the Baden-Baden Symphony in Germany. She not only earned very favourable reviews in the media but, in the opinion of one German journalist, she “undoubtedly put to rest the prejudicial notion that conducting is a man’s job“.

Maestra Kaluzny has received recognition from many sources for her bold and successful foray into the largely male preserve of conducting.  Among her many accolades, several stand out:

  • 1987 -  Selected by Glamour magazine of New York as one of North America’s Ten Most Outstanding Women.
  • 1993 –  Annual Achievement Award from the Business and Professional Women’s Club of Montreal.
  • 1999 -  Woman of Distinction Award from the YWCA Foundation and the Award of Excellence from the Career Women Interaction Network.
  • 2000 – The Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal recognized Kaluzny as “a woman whose life is synonymous with commitment and success” at their 12th Annual Network Dinner.
  • 2004 –  the Women’s Executive NetworkTM (WXNTM ) honoured Kaluzny in the Trailblazer category of the 2004 Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Awards.
  • 2012 – Wanda Kaluzny was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for her unwavering commitment to the musical development of Young artists and her willingness to pioneer unique soloists, composers and repertoire.
  • Wanda Kaluzny is featured in the book Against the Current by Judith Finlayson. She is also cited in Who’s Who of American Women, The World Who’s Who of Women, the Encyclopedia of Canadian Music, and many other publications.

La chef d’orchestre, Wanda Kaluzny

Un souci du détail. . . une chaleur inusitée et de l’amplitude. . . un contrôle impressionnant. . . une panoplie de subtilités et de détails expressifs - voilà les observations que l’on entend de fois en fois à propos de la direction de Wanda Kaluzny.

Née à Montréal, Wanda Kaluzny a entrepris ses études de musique par des cours d’orgue et de piano. Dès l’âge de 11 ans, elle a commencé sa carrière de chef d’orchestre en occupant la place d’organiste et de directrice de chorale en l’église Sainte-Croix de Montréal, fonction qu’elle a exercée pendant huit ans. Un an plus tard, à l’âge de vingt ans, elle fondait l’Orchestre de Chambre de Montréal (OCM) faisant d’elle à l’époque, la plus jeune et la seule femme à diriger un orchestre professionnel au Canada.

Les études de direction de madame Kaluzny comprennent travailler en Pologne avec Stefan Stuligrosz, puis aux États-Unis avec Charles Bruck, à la Pierre Monteux Memorial Foundation. En 1981, elle a participé à une tournée européenne à titre d’assistante du Maestro Bruck. En outre, elle a été invitée à diriger des orchestres en Amérique du nord et en Europe. En avril 1990, Wanda Kaluzny fut la première femme à diriger l’Orchestre symphonique de Baden-Baden en Allemagne. Non seulement la presse lui a été très favorable, mais de l’avis d’un journaliste allemand, elle «…vient indéniablement démolir le préjugé selon lequel l’art de diriger un orchestre est réservé aux hommes.»

De toutes parts, on a reconnu le mérite de Madame Kaluzny pour son audacieuse incursion dans cette chasse gardée que constitue la direction d’orchestre. Parmi ses nombreuses accolades, en voici quelques unes marquantes :

  • 1987 – Le magazine new-yorkais Glamour l’a sélectionnée comme l’une des dix femmes nord-américaines les plus remarquables.
  • 1993 – Prix annuel de succès du Club de femmes de carrières libérales et commerciales de Montréal.
  • 1999 – Prix Femme de Mérite de l’année de la Fondation YWCA et le Prix d’excellence des Femmes de carrière en interaction.
  • 2000 – La Chambre de Commerce de Montréal métropolitaine, lors de son 12ième banquet annuel du réseau, soulignait que Wanda Kaluzny est « une femme dont la vie est synonyme d’engagement et de succès ».
  • 2004 – Wanda Kaluzny a remporté les honneurs dans la catégorie Pionnière (Trailblazer) du concours des Femmes les plus puissantes au Canada 2004 : les Prix Top 100MD Awards décernés par le Réseau de femmes de direction (Women’s Executive NetworkMD ) (WXNMD ).
  • 2012 – Wanda Kaluzny a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II pour son engagement inébranlable envers l’épanouissement musical de jeunes artistes et sa volonté de promouvoir des solistes, compositeurs et répertoires uniques.
  • Wanda Kaluzny figure dans le livre de Judith Finlayson intitulé Against the Current (À contre-courant) ainsi que dans de nombreuses autres publications dont le Who’s Who of American Women, le World Who’s Who of Women, et l’Encyclopédie de la musique canadienne.