Celebrating 40 Years of Discovery

Sara Davis Buechner

Gianna Corbisiero


Jens Lindemann

Fumiaki Miura

Date :  June 3, 2014
Time : 8:00 pm

We cap-off the season with a concert celebrating our 40 years by featuring “past” discoveries and welcoming a new one! We begin with pianist Sara Davis Buechner described by the New York Times as an artist that “has it all… intelligence, integrity and all-encompassing technical prowess”. Her talent will charm in Mozart’s Piano Concerto no. 21 in C Major, K467 “Elvira Madigan”. Soprano Gianna Corbisiero, whose voice has been described as “luminous” (Opera News) and as having “astonishing power and expression” (La Presse) will perform arias by Puccini, Catalani, Rossini, Bizet and Lehar. Trumpet virtuoso Jens Lindemann, recently named “International Brass Personality of the Year” by the British publication The Brass Herald, will take us on a musical journey from Bach to the Beatles. For the final concerto of the evening, we welcome young violinist Fumiaki Miura, 2009 winner of the First Prize at the Hannover Violin Competition as well as the Music Critics’ Prize and the Audience Prize. Fumiaki Miura will interpret Mendelssohn’s Concerto for Violin in E Minor, op. 64. This performance will mark his North American début.

And, to end this special evening in style, we invite you to join us for a cocktail to celebrate together our 40 years of discovery!


This concert is sponsored by:

Subscription and prices

Programme :

  • Piano Concerto no. 21 in C Major, K 467
    « Elvira Madigan » – W. A. Mozart
    Soloist: Sara Davis Buechner
  • Arias by Puccini, Catalani, Rossini, Bizet, Lehár and de Curtis
    L’amour est un oiseau rebelle (Carmen) – G. Bizet
    Ebben ? Ne andrò lontana (La Wally) – A. Catalani
    O moi babbino caro (Gianni Schicchi) – G. Puccini
    Meine Lippen si Küssen so heiss (Giuditta) – F. Lehár
    Una voce pocco fa (Il barbiere di Siviglia) – G. Rossini
    Non ti scordar di me – E. de Curtis
    Soloist: Gianna Corbisiero


  • The trumpet from Bach to the Beatles
    Soloist: Jens Lindemann
  • Concerto for Violin in E Minor, op. 64 – F. Mendelssohn
    Soloist: Fumiaki Miura

Our thanks to :