Concerto for Erhu

George Gao

Date : April 16, 2013
Time : 8:00 pm
Soloist : George Gao, erhu (Chinese violin)

Our audience will be able to discover the unique sounds of the erhu, a two-stringed Chinese violin, through George Gao’s masterful interpretation of Four Ancient Scores from Dunhuang. Dunhuang is a small town in northwest China, located at the end of the Silk Road. A collection of pieces were found in a cave in the Dunhuang region and An-lun Huang’s Four Ancient Scores from Dunhuang is an interpretation of these scores. Moreover, we are thrilled to perform Couleurs by Louis Babin who will honour us with his presence at the concert.


This concert is sponsored by:

Subscription and prices

Programme :

  • Symphony no. 1 in C Major, op. 21 – L. van Beethoven
  • Couleurs – L. Babin
  • Petite suite – C. Debussy (orch. H. Busser)


  • Four Ancient Scores from Dunhuang – arr. An-lun Huang
    Soloist: George Gao
  • Symphony no. 1 in E-flat Major, KV 16 – W. A. Mozart