Concerto for Cello

Cicely Parnas

Date :  December 10, 2013
Time : 8:00 pm
Soloist : Cicely Parnas, cello

It is with great pleasure that we welcome Cicely Parnas, one of the finest young artists performing today. Cellist Cicely Parnas has a unique presence on the concert stage and is recognized for her highly individualized sound, exquisite tone and spontaneous creativity fueled by an affable fearlessness. We will have the pleasure of listening to her perform the world premiere of Concertino for Cello, a piece especially written for the Montreal Chamber Orchestra’s 40th anniversary by Canadian composer Jim McGrath, as well as the Cello Concerto no. 1 in A Minor, op. 33 by C. Saint-Saëns. Cicley Parnas’ performance with the Montreal Chamber Orchestra marks her orchestral début in Canada.


This concert is sponsored by:
Subscription and prices

Programme :

  • Symphony no. 2 in D Major, op. 36 – L. van Beethoven
  • Cello Concerto no.1 in A Minor, op. 33  – C. Saint-Saëns
    Soloist: Cicely Parnas


  • Concertino for Cello (world premiere) – J. McGrath 
    Soloist: Cicely Parnas
  • Petit Adagio from ‘The Seasons: Autumn” – A. Glazunov

Our thanks to :