Concerto for Saxophone

Le soliste Ashu


Date : February 17, 2011
Time : 8:00 PM
Soloist: Ashu

Astor Piazzolla is an Argentine tango composer who revolutionized the traditional tango into a new style termed “Nuevo Tango” by incorporating elements from jazz and classical music. He introduced new instruments such as the saxophone and electric guitar and brought new forms of harmonic and melodic structure into the traditional tango ensemble. Born and raised in California, Ashu has won numerous saxophone competitions. He is making his Montreal debut with the MCO.


This concert is sponsored by

Subscription and prices

Program :

  • Divertimento for Strings – G. Walters
  • Sinfonia in F Major (Badley F1) – L. Hofmann
  • Three Pieces for Strings – K. Bissell


  • Saxophone Concerto in E flat Major, op.109 – A. Glazunov
    Two Tangos for soprano saxophone and strings – A. Piazzolla (arr. Ashu)
    Soloist: Ashu, saxophone
  • Brook Green Suite – G. Holst